ajcollegeprincipal@gmail.com +91 471 2618106

Biochemistry, the branch of science that explains the chemical basis of life, is truly a merge of chemical sciences and biological sciences. Biochemistry is the application of chemistry to the study of biological process at the cellular and molecular levels.

Microbiology involves the study of microscopic organisms which has immensely contributed to methods of disease diagnosis, prevention, and control of infection, ensuring quality assurance for food, pharmaceutical, and chemical industry, control of environmental pollution, and waste disposal systems. It is microbiology that led to the development of antibiotics and vaccines.

At A.J. College students can pursue a Degree course in Biochemistry and Industrial Microbiology and a Master Degree course in Microbiology and M.Sc. Biochemistry.

1. Degree (Graduation) Courses

B.Sc. Biochemistry and Industrial Microbiology

3 years Regular Career Related Degree Program under CBCSS

Eligibility – A pass in Higher Secondary Examination of the State or an Examination accepted by the University as equivalent thereto with Biology as one of the subjects.

2. Master Degree (Post Graduation ) Courses

1) M.Sc. Microbiology

2 years Regular Course

Eligibility – B.Sc. Degree in any branch of Life Science from Kerala University or equivalent thereto by the University Securing not less than 55% marks.

2) M.Sc. Biochemistry

2 years Regular Course

Eligibility – B.Sc. with Bio-Chemistry or chemistry as optional main subject and any two of the following as subsidiary subjects viz. (i) Mathematics (ii) Physics (iii) Botany and (iv) Zoology under Part iii securing

Not less than 55% marks for that part/B.Sc. Industrial Fish eric and Fisheries (Vocational) B.Sc. Biological Techniques and Specimen Preparation (Vocational) B.Sc. Biochemistry or Chemistry (Vocational) are also eligible 25% seats will be reserved for candidates with B.Sc. Biochemistry.

Members of Faculty

  • Dr. Biju C Mathew (Prof. & HOD, PG Section)
  • Dr. Reji Susan Biju ( Prof. & HOD, UG Section)
  • Mrs. Joicy Abraham
  • Dr. Noha Laj
  • Dr. Swathy S S
  • Dr. Suja S.P
  • Dr. Sherin S
  • Dr. Rachanamol R.S
  • Dr. Jyothi K.P.